EVENTS

March 2019: Workshop "Advanced Digitisation" in Washington, USA

Visual History of the Holocaust will provide a digital infrastructure for the analysis, research, annotation, enrichment and study of filmic records relating to the discovery of Nazi concentration camps and other atrocity sites. In the course of the project these historical films, which currently are dispersed across archival institutions in the USA, Great Britain, Russia and various former Soviet Republics, will be aggregated, digitized, analyzed and annotated. Apart from its geographical dispersal a main challenge is that the digital cultural materials need to be "fit for re-use" to allow for analysis and accurate annotation.

One main aim of the workshop was to share best practice approaches, protocols and procedures for digitization currently implemented but also to visit institutions and companies being expert in digitizing these historical films.

More information: LINK

Impressions of the advanced digitisation workshop: Link to Diashow

Impressions of the excursions to NARA and Colorlab: Link to Diashow

February 2019: Co-Creation Workshop "Curatorial Framework" in Vienna, Austria

In line with the kick-off meeting the VHH Consortium organised a co-creation workshop in order to discuss the several engagement levels that have been defined within the proposal phase. Five pre-defined groups have been organised in order to integrate experts with different expertise and know-how. The groups discussed the four different engagement levels and presented their results to the full plenum afterwards.

Impressions of the co-creation workshop: Link to Diashow

February 2019: Kick-off Meeting in Vienna, Austria

The kick-off meeting of the VHH project has been held in Vienna, Austria, from 27th of February to 1st of March 2019. The first day of the kick-off meeting was dedicated to integrate all involved persons into the project and to reach a common understanding about the project goals, administration and workplan. The second day was dedicated to the co-creation workshop mentioned above and the third day included a visit to the memorial sites of Mauthausen and Gusen.

Impressions of the 1st day: Link to Diashow

Impressions of the 3rd day: Link to Diashow

EVENTS

März 2019: Workshop "Advanced Digitisation" in Washington, USA

Visual History of the Holocaust entwickelt eine digitale Infrastruktur für die Analyse, Recherche, Annotation und Untersuchung von Filmaufzeichnungen im Zusammenhang mit der Entdeckung und Befreiung der Konzentrationslager der Nazis und anderer Gräueltaten. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden diese historischen Filme, die derzeit über Archive in den USA, Großbritannien, Russland und verschiedenen ehemaligen Sowjetrepubliken verteilt sind, aggregiert, digitalisiert, analysiert und kommentiert. Abgesehen von der geografischen Verteilung besteht eine Hauptherausforderung darin, dass die digitalen Materialien "wiederverwendbar" sein müssen, um eine Analyse und genaue Annotation zu ermöglichen.

Ein Hauptziel des Workshops war es, best-practice-Ansätze, Protokolle und Verfahren zu den derzeitigen Ansätzen der Digitalisierung auszutauschen, aber auch Institutionen und Unternehmen zu besuchen, die sich mit der Digitalisierung dieser historischen Filme auskennen.

Mehr Information: LINK

Impressionen zum advanced digitisation workshop: Link to Diashow

Impressionen zu den Exkursionen zu NARA and Colorlab: Link to Diashow

Februar 2019: Co-Creation Workshop "Curatorial Framework" in Wien

Im Rahmen des Kick-off-Meetings organisierte das VHH-Konsortium einen Co-Creation-Workshop, um die verschiedenen Engagement-Levels zu erörtern, die in der Antragsphase festgelegt wurden. Es wurden fünf vordefinierte Gruppen gebildet, um Experten mit unterschiedlichem Fachwissen und Know-how zu integrieren. Die Gruppen diskutierten die vier verschiedenen Engagement-Levels und präsentierten ihre Ergebnisse anschließend im Plenum.

Impressionen zum co-creation workshop: Link to Diashow

Februar 2019: Kick-off Meeting in Wien

Das kick-off meeting des VHH-Projektes fand vom 27. Februar bis 1. März 2019 in Wien, Österreich, statt. Der erste Tag konzentrierte sich auf die Integration aller Beteiligten in das Projekt und der Erreichung eines gemeinsamen Verständnisses über die Projektziele, der Projektverwaltung und des Arbeitsplanes. Der zweite Tag war dem oben genannten Co-Creation-Workshop gewidmet und der dritte Tag beinhaltete einen Besuch der Gedenkstätten von Mauthausen und Gusen.

Impressionen des 1. Tages: Link to Diashow 

Impressionen des 3. Tages: Link to Diashow