Events 2019

Allied Attempts to Cover Nazi Crimes on Film. What Questions can the Footage Answer?

Workshop

Friday, 13.12.2019, 10:30 to Sunday, 15.12.2019, 13:00
Giessen

The international workshop invites experts from various fields to discuss the potential of Allied film footage of liberated camps for studying the history of the Holocaust.

Bilder der Befreiung. Liberation Footage - Atrocity Pictures

School at the Movies, Austrian Film Museum

Monday, 09.12.2019, 10:00 to Monday, 09.12.2019, 12:00
Vienna

An interactive presentation for school students on films providing evidence of Nazi atrocities

Vocabularies

Workshop

Thursday, 21.11.2019, 13:45 to Friday, 22.11.2019, 17:00
Vienna

The aim of this workshop is to present and discuss the basis, structure and content of the VHH Vocabularies to be fully defined in deliverable D4.1 Controlled Vocabularies Specification.

Video Shot Analysis for Digital Curation and Preservation of Historical Films

Paper presentation by Daniel Helm at the Workshop "The 17th EUROGRAPHICS Workshop on Graphics and Cultural Heritage", University of Sarajevo

Wednesday, 06.11.2019 to Saturday, 09.11.2019
Sarajevo

Video Shot Analysis for Digital Curation and Preservation of Historical Films

Metadata

Workshop

Monday, 21.10.2019, 09:00 to Tuesday, 22.10.2019, 16:00
Frankfurt am Main

A requirements elicitation of metadata standards and schemas is the aim of this workshop creating the basis for deliverable D4.2 Metadata Integration Concept.

Archival Research in Eastern European Archives

Mini-Workshop

Monday, 14.10.2019, 13:30 to Tuesday, 15.10.2019, 17:00
Vienna

The preparation of archival research in Eastern European archives is the objective of this mini-workshop.

Shot Boundary Detection for Automatic Video Analysis of Historical Films

Paper presentation by Martin Kampel at the Workshop "Pattern Recognition for Cultural Heritage 2019 - (ICIAP 2019)", Trento

Monday, 09.09.2019
Trento

How to detect shots in historical films for automatic film analysis?

Taxonomy of Relations

Workshop

Monday, 19.08.2019, 13:30 to Tuesday, 20.08.2019, 17:00
Vienna

How do images travel through time and constitute a visual history?

Eccentric Intimacies in the Work of Chantal Akerman

Presentation by Winfried Pauleit at the Summer School "Posthuman Intimacies", University of Toronto

Monday, 29.07.2019, 10:00
Toronto

In the work of Chantal Ackerman, one can find a number of eccentric intimacy scenes that are informed by an iconography of the Holocaust.

Archival Research

Mini-Workshop

Wednesday, 12.06.2019, 13:30 to Thursday, 13.06.2019, 18:00
Vienna

The preparation of archival research in Western archives is the objective of this mini-workshop.

Future Memory? Commemorating the Holocaust in the Digital Age

Presentation by Tobias Ebbrecht-Hartmann in the seminar for teachers from Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania at Yad Vashem

Monday, 10.06.2019, 13:30
Jerusalem

How do we commemorate, teach and learn about the Holocaust in the digital age?

Curation of Engagement Levels

Workshop

Monday, 20.05.2019, 09:00 to Tuesday, 21.05.2019, 17:00
Vienna

The features of the future Visual History of the Holocaust Media Management and Search Infrastructure (VHH-MMSI) are discussed in this workshop.

Visual History of the Holocaust. Rethinking Curation in the Digital Age

Presentation by Rasmus Greiner & Winfried Pauleit at the Research Day on "curation“, University of Bremen

Friday, 05.04.2019, 14:45
Bremen

What challenges and what opportunities do new approaches of digital curation offer?

Advanced Digitization

Workshop

Wednesday, 20.03.2019, 09:30 to Friday, 22.03.2019, 16:00
Washington, D.C.

This international 3-day workshop will lay ground for the development of Best Practice Models and Tool Kits for Advanced Digitization.

Kick-off Meeting

Wednesday, 27.02.2019, 09:15 to Friday, 01.03.2019, 20:00
Vienna, Mauthausen, Langenstein

The first Meeting of the VHH Consortium after the official start of the project

Digital Memory. Towards a Research Repository on the Visual History of the Holocaust

Presentation by Michael Loebenstein at EHESS, Paris (in French)

Tuesday, 19.02.2019, 19:00 to Tuesday, 19.02.2019, 21:00
Paris

An overview of the project to mark its public launch